Korean BBQ Pork with Crunchy Wontons

Are you shocked? I’m actually posting a recipe! I figured that since I actually cooked last night AND remembered to snap a few photographs I would share with you all.  I can’t take all the credit though – Brian actually prepped all of the veggies for me.

This is a Pampered Chef recipe featured in the Fall/Winter 2012 Season’s Best Recipe Collection.   It’s also one of our favorites. It’s easy to make, packed full of veggies and it’s easy to change up if needed.

The recipe does call for a Pampered Chef BBQ sauce (Korean BBQ Sauce) but I have actually never used that sauce when I’ve made it – so maybe I should just call it BBQ Pork with Crunchy Won tons? It’s up to you.

INGREDIENTS:

16 Square won ton wrappers (3 in/7.5 cm)

1 jalapeno pepper, seeded

2 medium carrots, peeled (I use 3-4 to bump up the veggie content)

1 large red bell pepper

1 medium onion

1 pork tenderloin – about 1 pound, trimmed

3 garlic cloves

1 1/2 TBSP canola oil, divided (I used olive oil)

1 cup Snow Peas, trimmed (I don’t trim them, I throw them in the pan just as they are)

3 Green Onions (I use 4-6)

1/2 cup Korean BBQ Sauce (I use whatever I have on hand, Masterpiece, Sweet Baby Rays, homemade – use whatever you want! and I usually use closer to a cup of sauce)

1/4 cup Apple Jelly (I like the jelly that has actual chunks of apple in it – I think it’s a Smuckers brand)

Additional sliced green onion for garnish (optional)

DIRECTIONS:

1. Stack won tons and cut them into 1/4 inch strips. Separate strips and place in Small Ridged Baker (honestly I think any piece of stoneware will work – but I did use my small ridged baker)  Lightly Spray with canola oil and toss to coat – don’t skip tossing them!

2. Microwave strips, uncovered, on High for 3-5 minutes or until they begin to brown, stirring at the end of ever minute (don’t skip! they will burn!) Spread strips over parchment paper to cool.

image (18)

3. Coarsely chop jalapeno using a food chopper (I actually chop them pretty fine). Cut carrots lengthwise into quarters then crosswise into thirds (basically cut into thinner strips)

4. Cut off top of bell pepper and scoop out seeds. Cut into bite size pieces.  Wedge onion into 5 chunks, then slice in half.

5. Slice pork lengthwise into four strips. Cut strips crosswise into 1/4 inch pieces (basically bite size) Mix pork and pressed garlic in a bowl until meat is covered with garlic. You could do this step earlier in the day for a stronger garlic taste if wanted.

6. Heat 1 TBSP oil in large skillet over medium-high heat for 1-3 minutes or until shimmering.

7. Cook pork without stirring for 3-5 minutes or until browned. Stir pork and cook 1-2 minutes; remove from skillet.

image (17)

8. Add remaining 1/2 TBSP oil to skillet. Add all vegetables, cook and  and stir 2-4 minutes or until crisp-tender (don’t over cook!)  I love all the bright colors in the pan – isn’t it pretty?

image (16)

9. Stir in pork, BBQ sauce and jelly. Cook 1-3 minutes or until heated through.

image (19)

10. Divide won ton strips among serving plates and top with pork mixture.  Garnish with additional sliced green onion if desired. I like to actually serve this over rice – it makes it go farther, and it’s filling. When I serve over rice, the won ton wrappers go on top (pictured below)

image (20)

To change it up:

Instead of carrots use parsnips.  Instead of peas, use green beans.  Instead of pork use boneless skinless chicken breasts cut into thin strips.

This recipe costs around $2 per serving and is heart healthy.  It serves 6 people (without the rice)

Please let me know how you enjoy this recipe!

Make it a GRATE day!

Love,

Christy

Leave a Reply

