Our Baby Journey…….Part 7

Ok, I realize that it’s been umm….several weeks since I wrote part 6, and yes, I realize that I am the worst blogger ever. For that I apologize.  But you want to hear part 7 right? Ok here goes!

 

May 31, 2013

This was the day I was going to go into the Doctors office and find out if I was pregnant.  The few days leading up to this day were the longest in my life.  The very few friends that knew what was going on told me I should just take a test at home and see if I was pregnant – but those tests don’t always show a pregnancy less than 14 days after ovulation, and I really didn’t want to get my hopes up.  AND I didn’t want to waste a $10 test – CHEAP I know!  But that morning I woke up around 4 a.m. having to use the toilet so badly that I had a decision to make.  I could take a home pregnancy test and find out knowing it could be wrong, and knowing that I wouldn’t go back to sleep that day if it were positive. Or I could use the toilet and go back to bed and wait for my appointment that morning.  I took the test.  Of course it took FOREVER to show the results. And then I saw it. I was in shock, in awe and was praying it was true.

9

 

I started crying and thanking God all in the same moment.  I couldn’t believe it.

I then had another decision to make. Do I wake Brian up right then and there and tell him, or do I wait another hour – hour and a half and tell him when he got up for work?  I decided to let him sleep, but to leave the test on the bathroom counter so he would find it when he got up.

I went back to bed KNOWING I wasn’t going to sleep anymore, but felt like I should at least try.  Brian rolled over and asked me if I was ok. I said yes, but if he was awake he should go look at the bathroom counter.  He did and came back to bed and we hugged it out and cried some more.

This was real.

I think we were both in shock.

This actually worked.

God had blessed us with a pregnancy that we had wanted and waited for, for 4+ years.  It was nothing short of a miracle.

Later that I day I went into my Doctors office and I saw Nurse Kim (she was AMAZING by the way – just as good as the Doctor!)  and she asked me if I had “cheated” – I told her I had and that the test was positive. She was excited for me, but gently reminded me that they were looking for an HSG level of at least 50 that day, and then they wanted it to double over the weekend.  She drew blood and sent it off to the lab and told me she would call me by 2 p.m. that afternoon with the results.

2 p.m. would not come that day – it seemed like it took FOREVER.

Finally she called. She said not to worry, but today’s HSG level was only a 47.  She scheduled me to come in on Monday for the same test. I knew that my numbers needed to be over 100. So we prayed all weekend.  And then left it in God’s hands.

June 3, 2013

Monday – same routine, draw blood, send it to the lab and She would call me by 2 p.m.  She called me before 2 (Thank God!) and said that my HSG level was a 102.   I was so so so happy!!

She scheduled us for a 6 week appointment, and an 8 week appointment.  After the 8th week we would be released from the fertility doctors care and we would have to choose a birth provider at that point.

This is the first picture of our tiny baby – not much to look at yet, but it’s the most beautiful little blob I’ve ever seen 🙂

scan0001

So now you know where I’ve been, and why there hasn’t been much action on this blog – I haven’t been cooking much! Being in the kitchen with a hot stove is just not a good thing right now.  But hopefully soon I will be back cooking and baking up a storm – I miss it!!

I am now 16 weeks pregnant (well tomorrow) and it still doesn’t seem “real.” I feel like I’m living in a daze most days. We are just so thankful and we are super excited to start this next part of our journey.  The question that I get asked the most is “how are you feeling” well to tell you the truth, I’m tired of throwing up.  Yes, even at 16 weeks I’m still dealing with it. But I do use it as a reminder that my baby is still growing, and throwing up is a GOOD thing…..although when I’m kneeling at the toilet it’s hard to remember that!

I do want to mention that this isn’t the case for every couple going through infertility.  Some couples go through multiple rounds of IUI and IVF and they still have empty arms.  I don’t know WHY it worked for us, other than it was all God’s timing.   My heart still hurts knowing that we have several friends still on their journey to having children.  I wish I could wave a magical wand and fill their arms with a child, but I am not God, and I sadly have no control over blessing someone with a pregnancy/baby.  I do know that God makes no mistakes, and his timing is always perfect.

Make it a GRATE day!

Love,

Christy

Leave a Reply

